Official press release

May 8th 2021, 07:00pm, Pledran, France

Dear Athletes, dear Presidents, dear Canicross lovers,

Due to the worldwide situation of Covid-19, safety and sanitary conditions are not adequate enough to allow us to welcome international contestants here in France for Plédran 2021 next October.

This is why this Saturday May 08, during the ICF (International Canicross Federation) general assembly to wich Canicrossbreizh was invited, we jointly made the decision to postpone the event to 2022. The next date is unknown at this moment. We will say you when decision will be made.

Equity and solidarity are the heart of our decision and we want to make sure that everyone has equal chance no matter where they come from.

Let us remind that over 10,000 visitors and 800 athletes from the 5 continents were expected.

We consider it responsible to make sure everyone is safe and sound and postpone the competition until next year. Furthermore, athletes and their dogs could not train this year, so they are not ready, for majority, to run for an international competition.

The only thing that matters is of course to welcome every athlete, their families, their dogs and supporters in optimal conditions.

Consequently, the members of Canicross Breizh are all busy reorganizing the event to offer you the best possible celebration for Plédran 2022.

In the meantime, you are officially invited to participate in 2021 Canicrossbreizh Challenge that will take place on October the 09th and 10th 2021 at the same place and same time than the initial World Championship – on condition local authorities accept it.

Last but not least, we want to say our thoughts go out to the health workers and people who have been affected by the virus. Lest we forget sport is also about strength and resillience; we hope you find comfort in thinking these sport values will help you overcome the crisis.

The Canicross Breizh team remains available for any further information whether it be in French, English or Spanish.

Best regards,

Guélor, Floriane, Jean-Yves, Michaël, Valérian.